MONTROSE Bridge Club held its annual general meeting last Tuesday, when Mark Evans was elected president in succession to Alastair Pullar. (See photograph on page 9)

Mr Evans said he hoped to match the good work of his predecessor, who had served in the post for four years.

Sarah Williams will continue her role as secretary and treasurer.

Other committee members are Alastair Pullar, Steve Davis, Bill Ross, Wendy Moore, Moira Cameron and Harry Faulkner.

The club confirmed it is keen to continue working with Montrose Academy and hopes to teach the game to more students next session.

Kathleen Scott presented the prizes to this season’s winners as follows: Redcastle Rosebowl for Central District Pairs – Ray Gallacher and Bill Ross; runners-up Sarah and John Williams. Silver Salver for Match Pointed Pairs – Sarah and John Williams; runners-up Bill Ross and Ray Gallacher. President’s Cup for Aggregate - Mark Evans and John Williams; runners-up Sarah Williams and Eric Wilson. Unicorn Cup for Individual – Eleanor Butters; runner-up Hazel Shepherd. Janet Sutherland Brown Rosebowl for Best Improved Average Score – Sarah Williams; runner-up John Williams.

Montrose Bridge Club will continue to play summer bridge until the end of August.

They meet at the Links Hotel each Tuesday at 6.45pm. If anyone would like more information please contact Sarah Williams on 01674 676308 or