Blooming good show!

Flower show prize-winners.
Flower show prize-winners.

THIS year’s Montrose Flower Show, held on Friday and Saturday at the Links Hotel, was a resounding success despite a very difficult growing season caused by the cold wet weather in late spring and early summer.

As expected, entries in the vegetable classes were well down in comparison with last year but this was more than made up for by increased entries in other sections of the show. In particular the knitting, craft, baking and preserves classes were extremely well supported with one member alone submitting 61 entries.

Montrose Horticultural Society secretary Kay Lees said: “The 2013 Flower Show will be on Friday, August 9, and Saturday, August 10. Schedules for the Industrial Section are available from the Wool Shop and Crafty Cat.

“The society extends an early invitation to exhibitors and visitors alike to make next year’s show as successful as this one.”

Prize-winners were: RHS Banksian Medal, The George Kerr Memorial Cup, The Provost AD Todd Cup, The provost W Douglas Johnston Cup, The Lyndale Soup Bowl, The Wullie Whyte Memorial Cup, Society Shield, The A Mair Cup, The R B Small Memorial Trophy, The J Drummond-Smith Semi Jubilee Cup - Mr Ed Mitchell, Lunan.

The Barclay Ross & Hutchison Rosebowl, The Celurca Trophy, Society Silver Cup - Mrs Catherine Dey, Montrose.

The Hobbs Cup, The John Urquhart Memorial Trophy, The John Laing Trophy, The C & V Stewart Challenge Trophy, The David Sim Cup, The Mary Robb Memorial Cup, Society Silver Cup - Mr George Stewart, Montrose.

The Kathleen Ritchie Trophy; Mr John Henderson, Montrose; The Malcolm Dunn Memorial Trophy; Mr. Peter Stevens, Montrose; Society Silver Medal; Society Silver Cup; Ms Doreen Murison, Montrose, Society Silver Cup; Mrs Mima Robertson, Montrose; The Links Lodge Floribunda Trophy - Mr R Milne, Ferryden; The Dunninald Bowl - Ms Dorothy Griese, Montrose; The Gannochy Trophy; Mrs Irene Trew, Montrose; The Finella Trophy, Society Silver cup (miscellaneous classes), Society Silver Cup (preserve classes), Society Silver Cup (Industrial Section) - Mrs Hilda Herald, Laurencekirk.

Angus and Mearns Floral Art Club Trophy - Miss Brenda Smith, Ferryden; Society Shield - Liam Annat, Montrose; The Juniors’ Cup - Chelsea Annat, Montrose; The Ian Sherriff Trophy - Bethany Coull, Portlethen.

The Miss McMaster Cup - Mrs Irene Gilbert, Montrose; The Kerr Cup - Mrs Pat Davis, Montrose; Society Silver Cup; Mr. John Sutcliffe, Dun​.