Emergency service group are Montrose Citizens of the Year

Pictured from the left are: Paul Haslen, Hamish Watt, Ally Hutchison and Geoff Stranock.
Pictured from the left are: Paul Haslen, Hamish Watt, Ally Hutchison and Geoff Stranock.

This year Montrose Rotary Club has broken with tradition for its annual ‘Citizen Of The Year Award’ by presenting the accolade to a group.

The club presents the award annually to someone from the town or surrounding area who the public feels deserves greater recognition for their outstanding contribution to the community.

But this year the award has gone to a team of people - Montrose Emergency Services Group (MESG).

Ally Hutchison, Community Police Officer for Montrose and chairman of the group, accepted the award on behalf of the team.

He said: “The MESG was created over three years ago. Our motto is ‘supporting the community’.

“The aims of the group are to support local events and initiatives and promote joint working between the emergency services and the community.

“We have supported many local events, raised much-needed funds and helped heighten awareness of great causes, such as Abbie Reid, Aidan Thomson and John Leith McGraw.

“We also help support the Montrose Friday Night Project where you will find volunteers from the team every Friday evening at Borrowfield Community Centre alongside those of the YM and Borrowfield Community Group.

“We are a big team with a committee of 20 strong and will continue to help when and where we can.

“We are very grateful to the Rotary Club of Montrose for this prestigious award and appreciate the support of the local community.”

He added: “It’s A Knockout is our flagship event and will take place on Saturday, June 20, as part of the Montrose Academy Bicentenary events. Eight teams will soon do battle again for the Knockout toilet seat and shield. We are looking forward to hosting another successful, custard-soaked event!”

The trophy was presented by club president Hamish Watt, who also welcomed to the presentation one of last year’s joint winners Alan Doe, chairman of Montrose Air Station, who won the award along with Montrose Music Festival chairman David Paton. Also attending from MESG were Montrose Paramedic Geoff Stranock, treasurer of the group, and Paramedic Team Leader in Aberdeen, Paul Haslen, who is the team’s secretary.