The Montrose and District Probus Club held its first meeting of the new season last Tuesday when the speaker was Joe Wishart.
Joe Wishart entertained the members with a very witty and informative talk entitled ‘Living in Mud’.
Joe now resides in a unique building that has become something of a tourist attraction. With no powerpoint or illustrations, Joe simply talked unhampered and unimpeded, telling the club about the history of the outlying communities of Craigo and Logie.
Famous once for their mills; Logie mill originally manufactured snuff to fill the silver snuff-boxes manufactured in Laurencekirk. Linen was then produced in both mills from local flax and by the time Joe’s grandmother was a small girl, many of his female relations worked in the mills.
Children would walk over the fields and across the bridge at Marykirk to school with their shoes tied around their necks and worn only when they got to school, as leather was so expensive. Many rural houses in these days were made of mud and straw and the building now inhabited by Joe was originally the school for Logie built in 1832.
The classroom was a large area, and behind it there were two private rooms one for the Dominie, and the other for his servant. In the 1870s, 60 children attended the school. With larger and more commodious schools being built, Logie School closed in 1897. When it was still in a state of disrepair, the United Free Church gave it a new lease of life, and in 1932, having acquired some pews and a church bell from a redundant church building in Invergowrie, it became a place of worship.
The church was used until 1990 when the funeral service of Miss Dutch, who had played the organ there for many years, saw the last time the building used for worship.