Friends of William Lamb

editorial image

The friends of the William Lamb Studio have held their annual general meeting, and set events and opening hours for the year to come.

The chairman, Mrs Kitty Ritchie, thanked the Friends and committee for supporting events over the previous year. Particular thanks were given to honorary treasurer David Murray and honorary secretary Ann Wyllie.

The Friends’ events included the children’s modelling competition, the coffee morning, and the event at Glamis Castle celebrating the Queen’s Golden Jubilee.

The focus of efforts over the past year has been, in partnership with Montrose Heritage Trust, the progress and production of the Lamb biography by Jonathan Stansfeld.

The official launch will be at the Royal Scottish Academy in Edinburgh on Thursday, September 26, with some of Lamb’s work will be displayed.

There will be a further viewing of Lamb’s work in Taylor’s Auction Rooms, Montrose on Saturday, October 5.

The next event will be the children’s modelling competition in the Scout Hall, Queen Street, on Saturday, June 8.

Another project to be supported by the Friends will be the forthcoming exhibition of the work of Adam Christie, to be held in Montrose Museum in June.

The Studio will be open from Tuesdays to Saturdays, from July 2 to the end of August. Opening hours will be 2 to 5pm.

The reason for the closures on Sundays and Mondays is because Montrose Museum is closed on these days and the back-up for the summer curator/friend would not be available.

The Friends have been invited to the Lamb Studio prior to the summer opening period, on Friday, June 28, when Norman Atkinson will give a briefing on the studio and the value of the Friends in supporting the summer curator.

New ‘Friends’ are always welcome to join the group. Further details can be obtained from the secretary, Ann Wyllie, telephone 01674 673684.

Friends’ annual membership fees remain at £5 for individuals and £9 for couples.

This will run from 10.30am until noon.

Office-bearers were elected as follows: chairman, Kitty Ritchie; vice-chairman, Jim Strang; secretary, Ann Wyllie; treasurer, David Murray.

Committee-members are Pearl Murray, Mae Mackenzie Smith, Hilary White, Mark Spalding and Sandy Dolan.