Kirriemuir Gateway to the Glens Museum is situated in Kirriemuir Town House, a building that has been at the heart of Kirriemuir since its construction in 1604.
The museum opened in 2001 after the building was carefully restored and conserved.
The building houses displays on two floors where visitors can discover the unique atmosphere of historic Kirriemuir and the splendour of the Angus glens. There is a vivid introduction to the history, culture and natural environment of ‘Kirrie’ and the glens, part of the Cairngorms National Park; recordings of local people; a touch-screen computer and a variety of temporary displays that take place throughout the year. Eighteen finely carved early medieval stone sculptures have been found in Kirriemuir and are now part of the museum’s collections.