SNP hold Angus as Mike Weir remains MP

Mike Weir MP
Mike Weir MP

SNP’s Mike Weir retained his place as MP for Angus in Thursday night’s General Election.

Mr Weir won with 24,130 votes - almost a 2:1 majority over Derek Wann of the Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party who received 12,900 votes.

Mike Weir failed to hide his glee ahead of the result in what was predicted to be a safe win.

He thanked voters and vowed to do the best for Angus.

Gerard McMahon of Labour received 3,919 votes while UKIP’s Calum Walker took 1,355.

Liberal Democrats’ Sanjay Samani received 1,216 with David Mumford of the Green Party taking 965.

SNP - 24,130

Conservatives - 12,900

Labour - 3,919

UKIP - 1,355

Lib Dems - 1,216

Greens - 965