Still time to nominate ambassadors

THERE is only a week left to nominate individuals, groups, organisations or businesses for this year’s Angus Ambassador Awards.

Organised annually by Angus Council, the awards celebrate the projects, initiatives, ideas and effort that have brought Angus and its people into the spotlight.

After the closing date for applications next Friday, September 23, a panel of judges will select three finalists for each of the six categories and every finalist will appear in a specially commissioned short film which will be shown at the awards ceremony on November 25.

The winner of each category will take home an attractive trophy, with an added prize of £500 for the winner of the Community Ambassador Award and £300 for the winner of the Youth Ambassador Award, with £100 each for the two runners-up.

Mike Forbes, co-owner of Forbes of Kingennie and last year’s winner of Ambassador of the Year, said: “I was delighted to be awarded Angus Ambassador of the Year in recognition of my contribution to tourism and leisure through Forbes of Kingennie Country Resort and continuing investment in the industry and local area.

“Having lived and worked in Angus all my life, I feel the awards are a unique celebration of all that’s good in Angus, and a great way of recognising the huge effort made by individuals and companies to ensure we continue to be one of the top destinations in Scotland.”

Several local companies are already supporting the event through sponsorship of awards. Enterprise North East Trust is sponsoring the Business Award, GlaxoSmithKline is sponsoring the Community Award, ENERTRAG is sponsoring the International Award, Angus College is sponsoring the Youth Award, and Forbes of Kingennie is sponsoring the Tourism Award. The highest award – Ambassador of the Year, is being sponsored by Piperdam Golf and Leisure Resort.

Anyone wishing to sponsor the Cultural Award, or take table sponsorship at the awards ceremony, they can contact the Ambassador Awards team on 01307 473168.

Full details of the awards, and application forms, are available online at