Who will get your vote?

editorial image

ANGUS Council has released the names of candidates who have submitted valid nomination papers to stand in the Council Elections on May 3.

In Ward 8 - Montrose and District, there are six candidates for the four seats available.

Andrew Boyd - Scottish Conservative & Unionist

Bill Duff - Scottish National Party (SNP)

* David May - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Ina Paton - Scottish Labour Party

* Mark Salmond - Independent

* Paul Valentine - Scottish National Party (SNP)

* The three marked with asterisks are sitting members. The fourth sitting member, Sandy West, retires at the end of the present session.

Candidates in other wards



Ward 1 - Kirriemuir & Dean

Alison Andrews - Scottish Lib Dem; Iain Gaul - SNP; Jeanette Gaul - SNP; Ronnie Proctor - Scottish Conservative and Unionist.

Ward 2 – Brechin & Edzell

Janet Cowan - Scottish Lib Dem; Mairi Evans - SNP; Jane Ferguson - Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Jim Houston - SNP; Douglas Murray - Ind; Bob Myles - Ind.

Councillor Mark Salmond, who is seeking re-election on May 3.'Contributed photo

Councillor Mark Salmond, who is seeking re-election on May 3.'Contributed photo

Ward 3 – Forfar & District

Charlie Brown - Ind; Colin Brown - Ind; Lynne Devine - SNP; Ian McLaren Ind; Glennis Middleton - SNP; John Rymer - Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Avril Simpson - Scottish Lib Dem.

Ward 4 – Monifieth & Sidlaw

Craig Fotheringham - Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Sheila Hands - SNP; Rob Murray - SNP; Liz Petrie - Scottish Lib Dem; Sandy Ritchie - SNP; Margaret Thomson - Scottish Labour.

Ward 5 – Carnoustie & District

Lorraine Barthorpe - Scottish Lib Dem; Bill Bowles - Ind; Brian Boyd - Ind; Adam Cormie - Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Fiona Gibb - SNP; Helen Oswald - SNP; Hamid Rasheed - Scottish Labour.

Ward 6 – Arbroath West & Letham

Kevin Barthorpe - Scottish Lib Dem; David Fairweather - Ind; Alex King - SNP; David Lumgair - Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Alec Mollison - Scottish Labour Party; Peter Nield - Ind; Ewan Smith - SNP; Ian Watson - Ind.

Ward 7 – Arbroath East & Lunan

Martyn Geddes - Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Ginny Graham - Scottish Lib Dem; Donald Morrison - SNP; Bob Spink - Ind; Alastair Stuart - Scottish Labour; Sheena Welsh - SNP.

Residents of Angus are being reminded to make sure they can take part in the election.

The Electoral Registration Officer in Angus said: “If you have recently moved to the area, or moved house it is important to make sure that you register at your new address otherwise you won’t be able to vote. It only takes a few minutes to complete a registration form but you must make sure we receive it by Wednesday, April 18.”

Registration forms are available by calling 01307 462416 or you can print a form from www.aboutmyvote.co.uk

For further information, visit Angus Council website http://www.angus.gov.uk/elections/lge2012/

* As in previous years, the Review will make equal space available for each candidate in the three weeks prior to the election.