Disastrous second half for Johnner

Johnner made the long trip up to Insch, in the third round of the Aberdeen FC trophy. The away team had what is a luxury to them nowadays, when they were able to name two substitutes for the first time in a couple of months.

Johnshaven started off brightly and in two minutes S. Blease played in Smith, but his shot fizzed 

The home team scored, in what turned out to be their only effort of the first half, in the eight minutes when a striker peeled wide and his teammate found him, before he finished from a narrow angle. 1-0

Johnshaven refused to let their heads go down and Couineaux-Rice was unlucky, with a left-footed strike from the edge of the box being well saved.

After 18 minutes Smith received the ball and showed some great skill to create space to shoot, but his effort was right down the keeper’s throat and, although the shot-stopper parried, no-one was on hand to get the 

Johnshaven were wondering what they had to do to score when Forbes whipped in a superb ball to Beedie, whose goal-bound effort was blocked by a defender and the keeper scrambled to 

Half-time: Insch 1, Johnshaven 0

It was a disastrous restart for the away team, when Insch doubled their lead. A dangerous corner found the head of a home player and although Spink saved well, there was an opponent on hand to score into the empty net. 2-0

The highlight of the match came after 54 minutes, when Darren Forbes scored arguably their goal of the season so far. From a full 30 yards out, he struck the ball with his weaker left foot and the it sailed into the far top corner. 2-1

After an hour, Johnshaven were very unfortunate to concede from a quick free-kick, which the attacker took while Spink was still lining up his wall. 3-1 Frustration kicked in for Johnner, and they switched off as Insch got another one despite Spink’s effort to block an attacker’s strike. 4-1

The away team did battle well for the last 20 minutes to keep the scoreline the same, but the damage was 


Scott Spink, Darren Forbes (Derry Simpson), Jack Dalgarno, Matthew Keogh, James Mennie, Jordan Harrison, Yan Couineaux-Rice, Darren Cruickshank, Scott Beedie, Steven Smith and Shaun Blease (Logan Sword).