Fordoun put Fettercairn to sword

Fettercairn 1 Fordoun Galaxy 3

FETTERCAIRN started quickly on Sunday and Fordoun struggled to get out of their half in the early stages.

However, Fordoun ‘keeper Milne was well protected by his defenders and it wasn’t long before Fordoun mounted an attack of their own.

D. Cruickshank clashed with a home defender in the Fettercairn box and the referee pointed to the spot. After the Fordoun attacker received treatment ANDERSON stepped up to squeeze his fourth-minute spot kick into the bottom corner.

Cargill made a great block to prevent Fettercairn levelling and the visitors broke quickly before winning a corner.

Duncan swung in the corner and D. CRUICKSHANK met it in the style of Paul Scholes, sending a thunderous shot past the Fettercairn number one, his first goal for the club coming in the 15th minute.

Fettercairn continued to enjoy more of the possession but didn’t create many chances although Hay was gutted to see his 40-yard effort crash against the crossbar. Fordoun punished their hosts for failure to capitalize on their superior possession when they scored their third in 44 minutes. Great work by Deans created an opportunity for D CRUICKSHANK who scored his second of the game with a deflected shot from inside the box.

Half-time: Fettercairn 0, Fordoun Galaxy 3.

Both teams knew the first goal of the second half would be crucial and it went the way of the home side.

Fordoun got stretched on their right wing before a Fettercairn attacker cut inside and sent a great finish past Milne.

The home side continued to press but didn’t create many clear cut chances, whilst Galaxy tried to hit them on the break.

Both sides made changes to try to gain an advantage but they cancelled each other out in the second half.

Fordoun’s third goal had proven crucial, taking the wind out of the Fettercairn sails and leaving them with too big a gap to bridge.

Fordoun held on for the win which prevented Fettercairn leapfrogging them in the league.

Fordoun Galaxy: Milne, Davies (Murray), Cuthill, Cargill, Anderson, Deans, R. Stirling, Duncan, Myers, D. Cruickshank (Thomson) and McComiskie (Norrie).