Luthermuir win Aberdeen League

Luthermuir clinched the Aberdeenshire Amateur League Division One East title with a 4-2 win at Johnshaven on Wednesday.

Luthermuir got off to a dream start with a goal in three minutes. Cruickshank broke on the left, Stephen Greig chipped his pass over ‘keeper Matt Smith and ANDERSON headed home.

In 10 minutes, Ryan Darar had an angled drive saved by Smith.

Johnshaven equalised in the 17th minute. Wood gave the ball away and Hood played a pass through for David BEEDIE to tuck a shot past the advancing Wands.

The home side attacked and in 22 minutes a Scott Beedie header from a Ross Blease free-kick was saved by Wands.

Things were not going Luthermuir’s way and in 27 minutes, Johnshaven went 2-1 up. Wands could only push a Hood free-kick into the air and when the ball came down, Scott BEEDIE was on hand to score.

Having got themselves ahead, Johnshaven suffered a blow two minutes later when Milne was shown a straight red card for a wild challenge on Craig.

Luthermuir needed three points to be champions and they set about putting things right at the start of the second half. A Ellis free kick was pushed out by Smith and Duff hit the side netting.

The scores were level in 51 minutes. Greig headed the ball on and SLESSER made space for himself before shooting into the bottom corner.

Johnshaven immediately went on the attack and Hood had an angled drive turned for a corner by Wands with a team mate unmarked in the middle.

Luthermuir went in front in 57 minutes. Milne knocked the ball down and Ellis shot home.

Both sides continued to make chances. Young shot just wide for Luthermuir in 70 minutes, then a minute later, Ross Blease did likewise at the other end.

Luthermuir held on to their advantage and two minutes into added time, Greig had another shot saved.

Luthermuir could finally celebrate in the fourth minute of added time when they made the points safe. Ellis robbed a defender on the right and passed inside for SLESSER to score his second.

Johnshaven: M. Smith, Dalgarno, Slavin (Comiskey), R. Blease (S. Blease), Scott, Walger, D. Beedie (Leven), S. Beedie, Milne, Hood, S. Smith. Subs: D. Stephen, S. Stephen.

Luthermuir: Wands, R. Darar (Milne), Miller, Duff, Wood (Young), Reid, Ellis, Craig, Anderson (Slesser), Greig, Cruickshank. Subs: K. Darar, Morrison.