Season ends with a draw for Mo


MONTROSE brought their season to an end with a 1-1 draw against Annan at Galabank.

There was still the slimmest of chances that Montrose could make it to the play-offs but they have had to settle for sixth in the league at the end of the 2012/13 season.

Stuart Garden’s men had to end a five-game winless streak and hope for a large swing in goal difference to reach the top four but the first part eluded them.

However, Montrose took the lead and scored with their first real chance when Scott Johnston curled in from the edge of the area after 24 minutes.

But in the 58th minute Annan levelled as Michael Daly netted his seventh of the season with a low finish into the far corner from the left side of the area.

The Gable Endies pushed for a winner but Garry Wood’s effort from 20 yards was tipped over the crossbar by Mitchell.

Garden said: “We knew the play-offs had gone before the game and that’s very frustrating because I think over the season we’ve been pretty consistent until the past month or so.

“Our last few games have cost us.

“It’ll be hard watching the other teams battling it out in the play-offs but we’ll take heart from the fact there’s been definite progress this season.”

Meanwhile, the club are delighted with news that Stephen McNally has been selected in the SPFA third division team of the year.

Each player throughout the leagues is asked to select the team of the year in their respective league in a 4-3-3 formation.

Each team is recognised at the annual Gala Awards Ceremony which took place on Sunday (May 5) at the Glasgow Hilton with every player listed receiving a commemorative engraved medal.

Division Three Team of the Year: Jamie Barclay (Clyde FC), Stephen McNally (Montrose FC), Ricky Little (Queens Park FC), Lee McCulloch (Rangers FC), Lee Wallace (Rangers FC), Lee Currie (Berwick Rangers FC), David Anderson (Queens Park FC), Daniel Moore (Elgin City FC), Andrew Little (Rangers FC), Rory McAllister (Peterhead FC), David Templeton (Rangers FC).

David Gray was also up for SPFA Goal of the Year as part of a public vote for his stunning goal against Rangers on December 15.

He eventually came fourth with 12 per cent, behind Bryan Prunty (Dumbarton) for his goal against Livingston on February 9 who had 29 per cent of the vote.

Hibernian’s Leigh Griffiths came second with 18 per cent of the vote for his goal against Falkirk on April 13.

In third was St. Mirren’s Graham Carey for his goal against Hearts on March 2. He had 15 per cent of the vote.