THE WILLIAM Lamb bronze, Le Paresseux, was formally unveiled at its new home on Friday to mark the opening of the William Lamb Studio for its summer season.
The statue, which stood at the entrance to Montrose Museum, has been relocated to the studio’s courtyard which has been freshly painted and resurfaced to accommodate it.
Designed by Lamb himself, the studio in Market Street has been preserved much as it was when he worked there. On display are many of his sculptures, etchings and paintings, as well as his modelling and carving tools, giving visitors a unique insight into the life and work of the artist.
Born in Montrose in 1893, Lamb sculpted portraits of many well-known local artists and society figures, the most famous of whom were the Queen Mother (then the Duchess of York) together with her young daughters, Her Majesty The Queen and Her Royal Highness Princess Margaret, which are also on display.
Lamb’s main body of work, however, was inspired by the everyday people and places around his beloved town, from the local children to the fishermen of the coast and basin.
Some of his works are familiar as they are on public view at Montrose Library, on the High Street, on the seafront esplanade and at the harbour. The studio is open daily from 2 to 5pm and admission is free.
Pictured at the unveiling are, from left - Norman Atkinson, head of Angus Council Cultural Services; Kathleen Ritchie, chairwoman of the Friends of William Lamb; William Lamb Advisory Committee member Councillor Sandy West and George Norrie, past chairman of the William Lamb Advisory Committee.